] google-site-verification: googlebff6a43135515ad3.html



The following pages set out the results of a community-led reassessment of the Lea Bridge area's heritage assets. This has been prepared in the hope that all the Lea Bridge planning authorities will carefully consider how these buildings, structures and places can be conserved and enhanced, and whether some may justify greater protection.

Nationally Listed Buildings

The Government, advised by English Heritage, has aleady recognises a number of local buildings as of national architectural and historic importance.


Locally Listed Buildings

Hackney and Waltham Forest Borough Councils have identified a number of buildings of local interest and importance.


Other buildings, structures and places

There are a surprising number of buildings of local interest and importance, some of which may justify greater heritage protection.


Lost buildings and places

Many buildings and patterns of development in the area have been erased and redeveloped, sometimes many times over.




Traces of human activity from all periods have been found in the ground in the Lower Lea Valley: from Neolithic farms to Roman roads.


Audit of heritage assets

English Heritage guidance states that an audit of heritage assets may be a helpful exercise to undertake in larger, more complex areas, where there is a wide range of historic structures, and/or in areas with an industrial heritage.Where significant change to public space is proposed, an audit of the public realm may also be appropriate and the appraisal might usefully note if such an audit needs to be undertaken.

Elements of the historic environment that hold significance are called heritage assets. Heritage assets are valued components of the historic environment which Government seeks to protect. These include surviving physical remains of past human activity, whether visible, buried or submerged, and landscaped and planted or managed flora.

Heritage assets are divided into ‘designated’ and ‘non-designated’ assets.

Designated heritage assets are defined as: World Heritage Sites, Scheduled Monuments, Listed Buildings, Protected Wreck Sites, Registered Parks and Gardens, Registered Battlefields or Conservation Areas designated as such under the relevant legislation.

Non designated assets are identified by the local planning authority during the process of decision-making or through the plan-making process (including local listing). Non designated assets are buildings, monuments, sites, places, areas or landscapes positively identified as having a degree of significance meriting consideration in planning decisions.

leabridge.org.uk December 2012